Cahalan Award Winners

The November 4, 2023, Alumni Dinner brought together all alumni to return, reconnect and rediscover the Cub brotherhood. Three Loyola men were honored as this year’s Cahalan Award recipients, highlighting each of their lives, good works and their history within the Loyola community: Howard Johnson ’54, Brendan McCracken ’84 and Christopher Rising ’87.

Howard Johnson ’54


Brendan McCracken ’84


Christopher Rising ’87


The Cahalan Award is presented annually to Loyola alumni to honor the enduring contributions of former president, Fr. Patrick J. Cahalan, SJ+, during his 27 years of service to your alma mater. It is given in recognition of his belief in the ideals of Loyola and the Ignatian spirit of the Magis as exemplified through distinguished and meritorious service to Loyola and its community, the city of Los Angeles, the state of California and the United States.